I can’t drown my demons

image

I can’t drown my demons
They know how to swim.
They lurk in the shadows
To the very core of my soul.

It’s dark inside
And I’m drowning with each breath,
I don’t want you to love me
I just want you to save me.

I’m a girl made of darkness
No light within,
But you can’t see my sadness
Nor the lie that I’m living.

Maybe I don’t want to be rescued
Or better yet to be loved,
Because the only love I know
Is the pain of the life I own.
                            Eye Candy.

10 thoughts on “I can’t drown my demons

  1. I love the first two lines. When I got to the last two lines of the next stanza I had to smile because I am the opposite, I want to be loved but don’t try to save me! 🙂 From my reading the poet came to that same conclusion in the last stanza. I enjoyed your poem.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

